Join us

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Newsletter

Ben Hopkins

Cathedral

Cover: Cathedral - Ben Hopkins

Ben Hopkins

Cathedral

2021, pp. 624, e-Book
ISBN: 9781787702523
Region: Britain
Paper Paper Paper
£ 12.99
Where to buy Where to buy Where to buy

The book

At the centre of this story, set over a 50 year period in the 13th century, is the Cathedral.

Its design and construction in the town of Hagenburg unites an array of unforgettable characters, whose fortunes are inseparable from the shifting political factions and economic interests vying for supremacy. Rettich, a shepherd’s son whose skill at carving wins him a job as an apprentice stone cutter, his sister Grete who will rise from pauper to wealthy landowner, Eugenius von Zabern, the formidable Treasurer of the Diocese, who must balance the Bishop’s complex accounts, and Judah Rosheimer, a Jewish boy who must learn to choose between his skill at trade and his father’s expectation that he should become a Torah scholar.

Around this narrative core, Ben Hopkins has constructed his own monumental edifice, a novel that is rich with the vicissitudes of mercantilism, politics, religion, and human enterprise. Ambitious, immersive, a remarkable feat of imagination, Cathedral tells a sweeping story about obsession, mysticism, art, and earthly desire. It deftly combines historical fiction, the literary novel of ideas, and a tale of adventure and intrigue.

Fans of authors like Umberto Eco, Elif Shafak, Hilary Mantel, and Jose Saramago, and readers of first-rate historical fiction will delight at the atmosphere, the beautiful prose, and the vivid characters of Ben Hopkins’s Cathedral.


From Cathedral

“There are many things that I detest in this world, and not many things I love. But I think it is clear that the thing that I detest the most of all is that Bottomless Hole that gapes not fifty paces from my Counting Table: The Cathedral.” —Eugenius von Zabern I, anno 1229

“. . . Their brows are not anointed with Holy Oil but with mortar and dust. In turn, they accept the task accorded them, to build the Temple, a place where harmony and order hold temporary reign over the unruly earth.” —Albrecht Kaibach, anno 1318.

The author

Ben Hopkins
Ben Hopkins is a screenwriter, film-maker and novelist. He has lived in London and Istanbul and now lives in Berlin. His films include features and shorts, fiction and documentary, and have won awards at festivals such as Berlin, Locarno, Antalya and Toronto Hot Docs.

Reviews

Books by region

  • Cover: Lambda - David Musgrave

    David Musgrave

    Lambda

    2022, pp. , £ 12.99
    Whoever the lambdas might be, and wherever they really come from, they’re already here among us
  • Cover: Laura Laura - Richard Francis

    Richard Francis

    Laura Laura

    2022, pp. 240, £ 8.99
    An elderly academic on his way home from the cinema is accosted by a homeless woman. She tells him her name is Laura. So begins a nightmarish journey...
  • Cover: Living and Dying with Marcel Proust - Christopher Prendergast

    Christopher Prendergast

    Living and Dying with Marcel Proust

    2022, pp. 256, £ 16.99
    A lifetime’s reading of Proust’s masterpiece
  • Cover: The River Within - Karen Powell

    Karen Powell

    The River Within

    2021, pp. 272, £ 8.99
    A poignant novel about infatuation, class, and obligation.
  • Cover: The River Within - Karen Powell

    Karen Powell

    The River Within

    2020, pp. 272, £ 16.99
    It is the summer of 1955. Alexander, Tom and his sister Lennie, discover the body of their childhood friend Danny Masters in the river that runs through...
  • Cover: Laura Laura - Richard Francis

    Richard Francis

    Laura Laura

    2020, pp. 240, £ 16.99
    An elderly academic on his way home from the cinema is accosted by a homeless woman. She tells him her name is Laura. So begins a nightmarish journey...

More suggestions

  • Cover: In the Shadow of the Fire - Hervé Le Corre

    Hervé Le Corre

    In the Shadow of the Fire

    2021, pp. 480, £ 16.99
    In the Shadow of the Fire traces the Communards’ tragic odyssey, while following a breathless criminal investigation.
  • Cover: You Are Not Like Other Mothers - Angelika Schrobsdorff

    Angelika Schrobsdorff

    You Are Not Like Other Mothers

    2021, pp. 544, £ 8.99
    A sweeping epic that spans the first half of the twentieth century, a novel praised as a German Gone with the Wind, You Are Not Like Other Mothers...
  • Cover: Tonight is Already Tomorrow - Lia Levi

    Lia Levi

    Tonight is Already Tomorrow

    2021, pp. 224, £ 12.99
    The tragic history of mid-century Europe told through the lives of ordinary people
  • Cover: Love in the Days of the Rebellion - Ahmet Altan

    Ahmet Altan

    Love in the Days of the Rebellion

    2020, pp. 496, £ 13.99
    With striking clarity and imaginative power, Altan evokes the traumas and upheavals of Ottoman history, showing how—over a hundred years later—the...
  • Cover: The Measure of a Man - Marco Malvaldi

    Marco Malvaldi

    The Measure of a Man

    2019, pp. 272, £ 12.99
    A Novel about Leonardo da Vinci
  • Cover: The Girl with the Leica - Helena Janeczek

    Helena Janeczek

    The Girl with the Leica

    2019, pp. 304, £ 13.99
    The story of the first female photographer to report from—and who died on—the battlefield. The woman who was one half of Robert Capa.