Join us

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Newsletter

Ben Hopkins

Cathedral

Cover: Cathedral - Ben Hopkins

Ben Hopkins

Cathedral

2020, pp. 624, Hardcover
ISBN: 9781787702516
Region: Britain
Available as ebook Available as ebook Available as ebook
£ 16.99
Pre-order now Pre-order now Pre-order now

The book

At the centre of this story, set over a 50 year period in the 13th century, is the Cathedral. Its design and construction in the town of Hagenburg unites an array of unforgettable characters, whose fortunes are inseparable from the shifting political factions and economic interests vying for supremacy. Rettich, a shepherd’s son whose skill at carving wins him a job as an apprentice stone cutter, his sister Grete who will rise from pauper to wealthy landowner, Eugenius von Zabern, the formidable Treasurer of the Diocese, who must balance the Bishop’s complex accounts, and Judah Rosheimer, a Jewish boy who must learn to choose between his skill at trade and his father’s expectation that he should become a Torah scholar. Around this narrative core, Ben Hopkins has constructed his own monumental edifice, a novel that is rich with the vicissitudes of mercantilism, politics, religion, and human enterprise. Ambitious, immersive, a remarkable feat of imagination, Cathedral tells a sweeping story about obsession, mysticism, art, and earthly desire. It deftly combines historical fiction, the literary novel of ideas, and a tale of adventure and intrigue.

Fans of authors like Umberto Eco, Elif Shafak, Hilary Mantel, and Jose Saramago, and readers of first-rate historical fiction will delight at the atmosphere, the beautiful prose, and the vivid characters of Ben Hopkins’s Cathedral.


From Cathedral

“There are many things that I detest in this world, and not many things I love. But I think it is clear that the thing that I detest the most of all is that Bottomless Hole that gapes not fifty paces from my Counting Table: The Cathedral.” —Eugenius von Zabern I, anno 1229

“. . . Their brows are not anointed with Holy Oil but with mortar and dust. In turn, they accept the task accorded them, to build the Temple, a place where harmony and order hold temporary reign over the unruly earth.” —Albrecht Kaibach, anno 1318.

The author

Ben Hopkins
Ben Hopkins is a screenwriter, film-maker and novelist. He has lived in London and Istanbul and now lives in Berlin. His films include features and shorts, fiction and documentary, and have won awards at festivals such as Berlin, Locarno, Antalya and Toronto Hot Docs.

Books by region

  • Cover: Laura Laura - Richard Francis

    Richard Francis

    Laura Laura

    2020, pp. 240, £ 16.99
    An elderly academic on his way home from the cinema is accosted by a homeless woman. She tells him her name is Laura. So begins a nightmarish journey...
  • Cover: The River Within - Karen Powell

    Karen Powell

    The River Within

    2020, pp. 272, £ 16.99
    It is the summer of 1955. Alexander, Tom and his sister Lennie, discover the body of their childhood friend Danny Masters in the river that runs through...
  • Cover: Crane Pond - Richard Francis

    Richard Francis

    Crane Pond

    2016, pp. 326, £ 12.99
    Absorbing new telling of one of America’s founding stories
  • Cover: Fire Flowers - Ben Byrne

    Ben Byrne

    Fire Flowers

    2015, pp. 368, £ 10.99
    August, 1945. Japan has been defeated in the Second World War. The country lies in ruin. Satsuko Takara and her teenage brother Hiroshi have lost...

More suggestions

  • Cover: Love in the Days of the Rebellion - Ahmet Altan

    Ahmet Altan

    Love in the Days of the Rebellion

    2020, pp. 496, £ 13.99
    With striking clarity and imaginative power, Altan evokes the traumas and upheavals of Ottoman history, showing how—over a hundred years later—the...
  • Cover: In the Shadow of the Fire - Hervé Le Corre

    Hervé Le Corre

    In the Shadow of the Fire

    2020, pp. 480, £ 16.99
    In the Shadow of the Fire traces the Communards’ tragic odyssey, while following a breathless criminal investigation.
  • Cover: The Measure of a Man - Marco Malvaldi

    Marco Malvaldi

    The Measure of a Man

    2019, pp. 272, £ 12.99
    A Novel about Leonardo da Vinci
  • Cover: The Girl with the Leica - Helena Janeczek

    Helena Janeczek

    The Girl with the Leica

    2019, pp. 304, £ 13.99
    The story of the first female photographer to report from—and who died on—the battlefield. The woman who was one half of Robert Capa.
  • Cover: The Sect of Angels - Andrea Camilleri

    Andrea Camilleri

    The Sect of Angels

    2019, pp. 208, £ 12.99
    Based on a true story, Andrea Camilleri’s new novel tells the story of a turn-of-the-century Sicilian scandal that reveals a pandemic that is with...
  • Cover: Sacred Darkness - Levan Berdzenishvili

    Levan Berdzenishvili

    Sacred Darkness

    2019, pp. 240, £ 12.99
    Stories of dissent, resistance and survival from the Soviet gulags.