Join us

Facebook
Twitter
Newsletter

France

Christelle Dabos

Photo C. Helier © Editions Gallimard

Christelle Dabos

Christelle Dabos was born on the Côte d’Azur in 1980 and grew up in a home filled with classical music and historical games. She now lives in Belgium. A Winter’s Promise, her debut novel, won the Gallimard Jeunesse-RTL-Télérama First Novel Competition in France, and was named a Best Book of the Year by critics and publications in the US, including Entertainment Weekly, Bustle, Publishers Weekly, and Chicago Review of Books. A Winter’s Promise was also named the #1 Sci-Fi/Fantasy title of the year by the editors of the Amazon Book Review.

All Christelle Dabos's books

Upcoming events

A Winter's Promise by Christelle Dabos has been shortlisted for Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2019.

Latest reviews

  • Extravagant, intelligent fantasy which just gets better. In The Missing of Clairdelune, the delightful Ophelia - a reluctant Jane Eyre to her taciturn fiancé Thorn - continues to assert her independence as she negotiates the dangerous political maze of the Arks
    — Katherine Langrish, May 20 2019
  • Dabos’s follow-up to A Winter’s Promise finds protagonist Ophelia—a mirror-hopper who can divine objects’ histories via touch—still on an interplanetary shard called the Pole. She is awaiting her arranged marriage to Thorn, after which the couple will inherit each other’s...
    — Publishers Weekly, May 12 2019
  • In the second volume of the Mirror Visitor quartet, the intrigues and machinations are ramped up when Ophelia is appointed Vice-Storyteller. A bestseller in France, book 1, A Winter’s Promise, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Award.
    — The Bookseller, Apr 29 2019
  • “The author continues her masterful architecture in this second installment as the arks, the family relationships, and the characters’ histories all gain greater depth and dimension.” Read the full review in Kirkus Reviews.
    — Kirkus Review, Mar 24 2019
  • Finally, a glowing example of the rare thing that is the YA novel in translation: Christelle Dabos’s A Winter Promise (Europa Editions, £12.99, trans. Hildegarde Serle), the first in a quartet, has already been a runaway success in its native France. Ophelia is not a typical...
    — The Irish Times, Nov 24 2018
  • Teen readers can also set out into weird new terrain with Christelle Dabos’ A Winter’s Promise (Europa), translated by Hildegarde Serle. Abstruse and sprawling, with hints of Mervyn Peake’s Gormenghast and Game of Thrones, it follows dowdy, quiet Ophelia, who can intuit...
    — The Guardian, Nov 24 2018
  • Has your tween already devoured JK Rowling’s entire output, and started watching films with subtitles and drinking strong espresso? The first book in the Mirror Visitor series by the French author Christelle Dabos would be the perfect present. Although dubbed the French Harry...
    — The Times, Nov 23 2018
  • Recommendations: A Winter’s Promise, Christelle Dabos “The first in the Mirror Visitor series, in which the world has fragmented. Perfect for fans of Philip Pullman’s The Book of Dust.”
    — The Guardian, Nov 11 2018
  • A best seller in France, Dabos’s debut novel evokes both the whimsy and the deep-seated sense of justice of the Harry Potter series. The unassuming Ophelia simply wants to live her life undisturbed on her celestial island, an “ark” named Anima, where she works as an archivist...
    — The New York Times, Oct 26 2018
  • — Jean Bookishthoughts, Oct 26 2018
  • A Winter’s Promise is a beautifully structured system of mirrors, reflecting in its glittering facets many other books.
    — The Times Literary Supplement, Oct 12 2018
  • — MercysBookishMusings - Youtube, Sep 9 2018
  • — booksandquills - Youtube, Sep 9 2018
  • Plainspoken, headstrong Ophelia cares little about appearances. Her ability to read the past of objects is unmatched in all of Anima and, what’s more, she possesses the ability to travel through mirrors. But her idyllic life is disrupted when she is promised in marriage to...
    — Publishers Weekly, Sep 6 2018
  • — Jean Bookishthoughts, Aug 16 2018
  • Europa Editions, the New York-based publisher of international literature, best known for bringing Elena Ferrante to the U.S., is no stranger to crossing cultural borders through translation. This fall, Europa will make its first foray into the YA landscape with the publication...
    — Publishers Weekly, Jul 10 2018

France