Join us

Facebook
Twitter
Newsletter

France

Christelle Dabos

Photo C. Helier © Editions Gallimard

Christelle Dabos

Christelle Dabos was born on the Côte d’Azur in 1980 and grew up in a home filled with classical music and historical games. She now lives in Belgium. The Mirror Visitor, her debut series, won the Gallimard Jeunesse-RTL-Télérama First Novel Competition.

All Christelle Dabos's books

Latest reviews

  • Finally, a glowing example of the rare thing that is the YA novel in translation: Christelle Dabos’s A Winter Promise (Europa Editions, £12.99, trans. Hildegarde Serle), the first in a quartet, has already been a runaway success in its native France. Ophelia is not a typical...
    — The Irish Times, Nov 24 2018
  • Teen readers can also set out into weird new terrain with Christelle Dabos’ A Winter’s Promise (Europa), translated by Hildegarde Serle. Abstruse and sprawling, with hints of Mervyn Peake’s Gormenghast and Game of Thrones, it follows dowdy, quiet Ophelia, who can intuit...
    — The Guardian, Nov 24 2018
  • Has your tween already devoured JK Rowling’s entire output, and started watching films with subtitles and drinking strong espresso? The first book in the Mirror Visitor series by the French author Christelle Dabos would be the perfect present. Although dubbed the French Harry...
    — The Times, Nov 23 2018
  • Recommendations: A Winter’s Promise, Christelle Dabos “The first in the Mirror Visitor series, in which the world has fragmented. Perfect for fans of Philip Pullman’s The Book of Dust.”
    — The Guardian, Nov 11 2018
  • A best seller in France, Dabos’s debut novel evokes both the whimsy and the deep-seated sense of justice of the Harry Potter series. The unassuming Ophelia simply wants to live her life undisturbed on her celestial island, an “ark” named Anima, where she works as an archivist...
    — The New York Times, Oct 26 2018
  • — Jean Bookishthoughts, Oct 26 2018
  • A Winter’s Promise is a beautifully structured system of mirrors, reflecting in its glittering facets many other books.
    — The Times Literary Supplement, Oct 12 2018
  • — MercysBookishMusings - Youtube, Sep 9 2018
  • — booksandquills - Youtube, Sep 9 2018
  • Plainspoken, headstrong Ophelia cares little about appearances. Her ability to read the past of objects is unmatched in all of Anima and, what’s more, she possesses the ability to travel through mirrors. But her idyllic life is disrupted when she is promised in marriage to...
    — Publishers Weekly, Sep 6 2018
  • — Jean Bookishthoughts, Aug 16 2018
  • Europa Editions, the New York-based publisher of international literature, best known for bringing Elena Ferrante to the U.S., is no stranger to crossing cultural borders through translation. This fall, Europa will make its first foray into the YA landscape with the publication...
    — Publishers Weekly, Jul 10 2018

France