Join us


Joan London’s THE GOLDEN AGE is longlisted for the Wellcome Book Prize

Joan London’s The Golden Age is longlisted for the Wellcome Book Prize.

Comprising seven non-fiction and five fiction titles, the longlist includes memoir, contemporary fiction, historical fiction and popular science. Its 12 books showcase the breadth and depth of our encounters with medicine.

‘How to Survive a Plague’ by David France non-fiction
‘Homo Deus’ by Yuval Noah Harari non-fiction
‘When Breath Becomes Air’ by Paul Kalanithi non-fiction
‘Mend the Living’ by Maylis de Kerangal trans. Jessica Moore fiction
‘The Golden Age’ by Joan London fiction
‘Cure’ by Jo Marchant non-fiction
‘The Tidal Zone’ by Sarah Moss fiction
‘The Gene’ by Siddhartha Mukherjee non-fiction
‘The Essex Serpent’ by Sarah Perry fiction
‘A Brief History of Everyone Who Ever Lived’ by Adam Rutherford non-fiction
‘Miss Jane’ by Brad Watson fiction
‘I Contain Multitudes’ by Ed Yong non-fiction

The shortlist for the 2017 prize will be announced on 14 March 2017 and the winner on 24 April 2017.