Join us

Facebook
Twitter
Newsletter

Roberto Tiraboschi

The Apothecary’s Shop

Roberto Tiraboschi

The Apothecary’s Shop

2017, pp. 336, Paperback
ISBN: 9781609454173
Translated by: Katherine Gregor
Region: Italy
Available as ebook Available as ebook Available as ebook
£ 12.99
Sample chapter Sample chapter Sample chapter

The book

In a medieval Venice undone by devastating famine and excessive, orgiastic Carnival festivities of all kinds, the protagonists of The Apothecary’s Shop chase a dream of rebirth, the eternal fantasy of defeating death.

The young Costanza, of the noble Grimani family, has disappeared. The family scribe, Edgardo, promises to return the girl to her family, who themselves may not be above suspicion. Doctors, apothecaries, undertakers, Eastern merchants, farmers: everyone seems to be involved in the girl’s disappearance, even African slave traders.

Abella, Edgardo’s ambiguous ally and the only female doctor in Venice, introduces him to secrets and occult practices of medicine. Through her, Edgardo discovers Sabbatai’s Apothecary, where remedies and concoctions are prepared and clues to Costanza’s disappearance may lie.

An erudite thriller in the vein of Umberto Eco’s The Name of the Rose, The Apothecary’s Shop offers readers an astonishing voyage into medieval Venice.

Praise for The Apothecary's Shop

“Nobody writes about Venice like Roberto Tiraboschi in The Apothecary’s Shop.”
L’Unità

“The pieces of this mystery allow Tiraboschi to pull us into a distant world, a medieval Venice that we are not used to imagining and that has rarely been written about.”
La Repubblica

The author

Roberto Tiraboschi
Roberto Tiraboschi was born in Bergamo, Italy. He is known as one of Italy’s most stylish screenwriters and playwrights, having worked with Nobel laureate Dario Fo and written screenplays for a number of Italian directors, including Marco Pontecorvo, Silvio Soldini, and Liliana Cavani among others. His novels have enjoyed success with both critics and readers. The Eye Stone (Europa, 2015) was his English debut.

Reviews

Books by region

  • Fabio Bartolomei

    We Are Family

    2018, pp. 288, £ 12.99
    How to save the world, one family at a time
  • Giancarlo De Cataldo, Carlo Bonini

    The Night of Rome

    2018, pp. 288, £ 12.99
    In the night of Rome, nothing is what it seems
  • Maurizio de Giovanni

    Nameless Serenade

    2018, pp. 352, £ 12.99
    A long, rainy, deadly Autumn in Naples.
  • Andrea Camilleri

    The Sacco Gang

    2018, pp. 144, £ 9.99
    The Sacco Gang is not only a gripping Italian “western” but an indictment of the Mafia’s influence and the devastation it wreaks in people’s...
  • Domenico Starnone

    Trick

    2018, pp. 192, £ 11.99
    Imagine a duel. A face-off between a man and a boy.
  • Alessandro Barbero

    The Athenian Women

    2018, pp. 208, £ 11.99
    The Athenian Women offers a powerful vision of class struggle, the subjugation of women, and the courage needed to change the course of history.

More suggestions

  • Ahmet Altan

    Like a Sword Wound

    2018, pp. 320, £ 12.99
    “A deeply compelling and immersive narrative about love, desire, loneliness and landscape.”—Elif Shafak
  • Andrea Camilleri

    The Sacco Gang

    2018, pp. 144, £ 9.99
    The Sacco Gang is not only a gripping Italian “western” but an indictment of the Mafia’s influence and the devastation it wreaks in people’s...
  • Nick Arvin

    Mad Boy

    2018, pp. 240, £ 11.99
    A rollicking, picaresque novel about family and perseverance set during America’s “forgotten war” of 1812.
  • Alessandro Barbero

    The Athenian Women

    2018, pp. 208, £ 11.99
    The Athenian Women offers a powerful vision of class struggle, the subjugation of women, and the courage needed to change the course of history.
  • Chantel Acevedo

    The Living Infinite

    2017, pp. 320, £ 12.99
    Acevedo’s new novel is an atmospheric and gripping tale of love, adventure, power and the quest to take control of one’s destiny. Bourbon Spain,...
  • Jean-Christophe Rufin

    The Dream Maker

    2017, pp. 414, £ 12.99
    The French monarchy during an epoch of upheaval is brought brilliantly to life in this novel by Goncourt Prize-winning author, Jean-Christophe Rufin.