Join us

Facebook
Twitter
Newsletter

Roberto Tiraboschi

The Apothecary’s Shop

Roberto Tiraboschi

The Apothecary’s Shop

2017, pp. 352, Paperback
ISBN: 9781609454173
Translated by: Katherine Gregor
Region: Italy
Available as ebook Available as ebook Available as ebook
£ 12.99

The book

In a medieval Venice undone by devastating famine and excessive, orgiastic Carnival festivities of all kinds, the protagonists of The Apothecary’s Shop chase a dream of rebirth, the eternal fantasy of defeating death.

The young Costanza, of the noble Grimani family, has disappeared. The family scribe, Edgardo, promises to return the girl to her family, who themselves may not be above suspicion. Doctors, apothecaries, undertakers, Eastern merchants, farmers: everyone seems to be involved in the girl’s disappearance, even African slave traders.

Abella, Edgardo’s ambiguous ally and the only female doctor in Venice, introduces him to secrets and occult practices of medicine. Through her, Edgardo discovers Sabbatai’s Apothecary, where remedies and concoctions are prepared and clues to Costanza’s disappearance may lie.

An erudite thriller in the vein of Umberto Eco’s The Name of the Rose, The Apothecary’s Shop offers readers an astonishing voyage into medieval Venice.

Praise for The Apothecary's Shop

“Nobody writes about Venice like Roberto Tiraboschi in The Apothecary’s Shop.”
L’Unità

“The pieces of this mystery allow Tiraboschi to pull us into a distant world, a medieval Venice that we are not used to imagining and that has rarely been written about.”
La Repubblica

The author

Roberto Tiraboschi
Roberto Tiraboschi was born in Bergamo (Italy) and lives between Rome and Venice. Screenwriter and playwright, he has worked with Nobel laureate Dario Fo and written screenplays for Italian directors, including Marco Pontecorvo, Silvio Soldini, Liliana Cavani among others. His novels, Sonno and Sguardo 11, have enjoyed considerable success with both critics and readers. The Eye Stone is the first of his novels to be published in English.

Reviews

Books by region

  • Andrea Camilleri

    The Sacco Gang

    2018, pp. 128, £ 10.99
    The Sacco Gang is not only a gripping Italian “western” but an indictment of the Mafia’s influence and the devastation it wreaks in people’s...
  • Alessandro Barbero

    The Athenian Women

    2018, pp. 208, £ 11.99
    The Athenian Women offers a powerful vision of class struggle, the subjugation of women, and the courage needed to change the course of history.
  • Nicola Lagioia

    Ferocity

    2017, pp. 368, £ 13.99
    A combination of Gone Girl and Franzen’s Freedom filtered through the fierce Mediterranean vision of Elena Ferrante
  • Carlo Bonini, Giancarlo De Cataldo

    Suburra

    2017, pp. 528, £ 13.99
    Fast-paced crime thriller set in Rome: Gomorrah meets House of Cards
  • Maurizio de Giovanni

    Glass Souls. Moths for Commissario Ricciardi

    2017, pp. 416, £ 12.99
    The eighth entry in Maurizio de Giovanni's internationally bestselling Commissario Ricciardi series.
  • Andrea Camilleri

    The Revolution of the Moon

    2017, pp. 240, £ 12.99
    From the author of the Inspector Montalbano series, the remarkable account of an exceptional woman who rises to power in 17th century Sicily and brings...

More suggestions

  • Andrea Camilleri

    The Sacco Gang

    2018, pp. 128, £ 10.99
    The Sacco Gang is not only a gripping Italian “western” but an indictment of the Mafia’s influence and the devastation it wreaks in people’s...
  • Alessandro Barbero

    The Athenian Women

    2018, pp. 208, £ 11.99
    The Athenian Women offers a powerful vision of class struggle, the subjugation of women, and the courage needed to change the course of history.
  • Chantel Acevedo

    The Living Infinite

    2017, pp. 320, £ 12.99
    Acevedo’s new novel is an atmospheric and gripping tale of love, adventure, power and the quest to take control of one’s destiny. Bourbon Spain,...
  • Jean-Christophe Rufin

    The Dream Maker

    2017, pp. 414, £ 12.99
    The French monarchy during an epoch of upheaval is brought brilliantly to life in this novel by Goncourt Prize-winning author, Jean-Christophe Rufin.
  • Andrea Camilleri

    The Revolution of the Moon

    2017, pp. 240, £ 12.99
    From the author of the Inspector Montalbano series, the remarkable account of an exceptional woman who rises to power in 17th century Sicily and brings...
  • Parisa Reza

    The Gardens of Consolation

    2017, pp. 272, £ 11.99
    A powerful love story unfolds against the backdrop of a rapidly changing Iran