Join us

Facebook
Twitter
Newsletter

Roberto Tiraboschi

The Apothecary’s Shop

Roberto Tiraboschi

The Apothecary’s Shop

2017, pp. 336, Paperback
ISBN: 9781609454173
Translated by: Katherine Gregor
Region: Italy
Available as ebook Available as ebook Available as ebook
£ 12.99
Sample chapter Sample chapter Sample chapter

The book

In a medieval Venice undone by devastating famine and excessive, orgiastic Carnival festivities of all kinds, the protagonists of The Apothecary’s Shop chase a dream of rebirth, the eternal fantasy of defeating death.

The young Costanza, of the noble Grimani family, has disappeared. The family scribe, Edgardo, promises to return the girl to her family, who themselves may not be above suspicion. Doctors, apothecaries, undertakers, Eastern merchants, farmers: everyone seems to be involved in the girl’s disappearance, even African slave traders.

Abella, Edgardo’s ambiguous ally and the only female doctor in Venice, introduces him to secrets and occult practices of medicine. Through her, Edgardo discovers Sabbatai’s Apothecary, where remedies and concoctions are prepared and clues to Costanza’s disappearance may lie.

An erudite thriller in the vein of Umberto Eco’s The Name of the Rose, The Apothecary’s Shop offers readers an astonishing voyage into medieval Venice.

Praise for The Apothecary's Shop

“Nobody writes about Venice like Roberto Tiraboschi in The Apothecary’s Shop.”
L’Unità

“The pieces of this mystery allow Tiraboschi to pull us into a distant world, a medieval Venice that we are not used to imagining and that has rarely been written about.”
La Repubblica

The author

Roberto Tiraboschi
Roberto Tiraboschi was born in Bergamo, Italy. He is known as one of Italy’s most stylish screenwriters and playwrights, having worked with Nobel laureate Dario Fo and written screenplays for a number of Italian directors, including Marco Pontecorvo, Silvio Soldini, and Liliana Cavani among others. His novels have enjoyed success with both critics and readers. The Eye Stone (Europa, 2015) was his English debut.

Reviews

Books by region

  • Tiziana de Rogatis

    Elena Ferrante. Keywords

    2019, pp. 288, £ 13.99
    Words are the keys to the mysterious, intoxicating labyrinth that is Elena Ferrante’s Neapolitan quartet, and to her Naples in all its serpentine...
  • Carlo Bonini

    Murder Island

    2019, pp. 224, £ 12.99
    Carlo Bonini picks up the threads of Daphne’s courageous international investigation, the “Daphne Project”, that revealed the heart of an unsettling...
  • Marco Malvaldi

    The Measure of a Man

    2019, pp. 240, £ 12.99
    A Novel about Leonardo da Vinci
  • Helena Janeczek

    The Girl with the Leica

    2019, pp. 364, £ 13.99
    The story of the first female photographer to report from—and who died on—the battlefield. The woman who was one half of Robert Capa.
  • Andrea Marcolongo

    The Ingenious Language

    2019, pp. 176, £ 12.99
    It may well be Greek to you, but in Marcolongo’s international bestselling book you’ll discover nine reasons to be happy it is.
  • Donatella Di Pietrantonio

    A Girl Returned

    2019, pp. 160, £ 12.99
    Told with immediacy and rare expressive intensity, A Girl Returned marks the English-language debut of an extraordinary literary talent. Set against...

More suggestions

  • Marco Malvaldi

    The Measure of a Man

    2019, pp. 240, £ 12.99
    A Novel about Leonardo da Vinci
  • Helena Janeczek

    The Girl with the Leica

    2019, pp. 364, £ 13.99
    The story of the first female photographer to report from—and who died on—the battlefield. The woman who was one half of Robert Capa.
  • Andrea Camilleri

    The Sect of Angels

    2019, pp. 208, £ 12.99
    Based on a true story, Andrea Camilleri’s new novel tells the story of a turn-of-the-century Sicilian scandal that reveals a pandemic that is with...
  • Levan Berdzenishvili

    Sacred Darkness

    2019, pp. 240, £ 12.99
    Stories of dissent, resistance and survival from the Soviet gulags.
  • Ahmet Altan

    Like a Sword Wound

    2018, pp. 352, £ 12.99
    “A deeply compelling and immersive narrative about love, desire, loneliness and landscape.”—Elif Shafak
  • Andrea Camilleri

    The Sacco Gang

    2018, pp. 144, £ 9.99
    The Sacco Gang is not only a gripping Italian “western” but an indictment of the Mafia’s influence and the devastation it wreaks in people’s...